2015 Board of Directors

 We are pleased to announce the installation of our new Board President, Ron Perkins of Doozer Software, Inc. Ron has been a member of the Special Equestrians' Board since 2011 and since has helped steer the program towards success. Ron headed up a committee in 2013 to develop Special Equestrians' Strategic Plan and has been involved with events such as the Hoofin' It 5k/10k Run and the Boots and Black Tie Gala. Ron and his family are avid equestrians themselves and support the mission of Special Equestrians to provide quality therapeutic horseback riding to individuals with special needs. 

We would like to thank our outgoing President, Norman Orr, and outgoing Vice President, Kelly Johnson, for their years of dedicated service to the board. It is because of the dedicated professionals on the Board that Special Equestrians is able to run its programs so efficiently. 

Ron Perkins, President
Doozer Software, Inc.

Rita Mendel, Founder
Carousel Tack Shoppe

Gregory Powell
fi-Plan Partners, LLC 

Brett S. Sheedy, Vice President
Partners Tax and Accounting, LLC

John Cook
Birmingham Barons

Greg Smith
Stanley Steemer Carpet Cleaner

 Michael Nixon, Treasurer
Regions Bank

Rick Journey
RJ360 Communications

Sherrel Stewart
Birmingham City Council

Catherine McLean, 

 Kay Harrison
Harrison DP Services

Kathleen M. Claybrook, ex officio
Executive DirectorSpecial Equestrians

 Selena Harrison
Blackbook HR

Lee McElveen
Sentinel Cleaning



2015 Advisory Board


Chris Baker
John R. Bell, LLC

Diane Harrington, DVM

Catherine Smith

Dan Goldberg
Goldberg & Associates

Ricky J. McKinney
Fleenor, Green & McKinney, LLP

Annette Troxell
N.E. Miles Jewish Day School

Jake Guercio
Benefits Partners, LLC

Patrice Murphy
Pediatric Therapy Associates

Ray Winston
Legal Council


2013-2014 Junior Board


Sam Brown, President
Doozer Software

Haley Duke
Redmont Properties

Maeghen Pickett
Birmingham Barons

Jennifer Roberts, Vice President
BCBS of Alabama

Jess Anne Heppenstall
Rezult Technology

Diana Tannehill
Montgomery Public Schools

Meagan Moore, Secretary
LAH Real Estate, Inc.

Courtney Christy Kelly
Courtney Christy Kelly, Architect

William Upton
Windwood Equestrian

Makenzie Cafaro
Keller Wholesale

Matt Legg
Sterne Agee

Andrea Weed
Burr & Forman

Lauren M. Cornelius
Comfort Care Home Health

Jennifer McCorkle
HiTech Healthcare

Jessica Wehby
Skelley Medical

Brittney Cowan
Redmont Properties

Megan Mims
Shelby County Reporter


Ivey De La Torre
Hartline & Roberts

Carroll Papajohn
Baptist Health System